Candidate forum scheduled here July 18th

With the large number of candidates competing for the vacant Chelan County Commissioner seat and the two State House of Representatives seats up for election, many folks are looking to find out more about each of the candidates in order to determine who they wish to support or vote for. A group of Lake Wenatchee area residents are organizing to host a non-partisan forum for all candidates running for the open Chelan County Commissioner seat and the two State Legislature District 12 positions that will be on the ballot for the primary election in August. The event will be held at the Ponderosa Community Clubhouse at 7:00 PM the evening of July 18th and will be moderated by local resident Jim Passage.
The following candidates have been invited to attend. Many have already accepted and a list of confirmed participating candidates will be provided prior to the event:

Chelan County Commissioner position:
Bob Bugert; Non-partisan, Wenatchee
Shon Smith; Republican; Cashmere
Zachary Miller; Independent; Lake Wenatchee
Lee Duncan; Independent; Malaga
Robert Moelder; Independent; Cashmere

State Representative; District 12; Position 1
Keith Goehner; Republican, Dryden
Ann Diamond; Independent, Winthrop
C. Keiki Stacy Weigle; Democrat, Okanogan
I.D. Greening; Republican, Waterville

State Representative; District 12; Position 2
Valerie Savage; Democrat, Twisp
Alan Fahnestock; Independent, Winthrop
Mike Steele; Republican, Chelan (Incumbent)

To avoid having the same questions asked several different ways from the floor during the event, the organizers are requesting that people anticipating attending the event submit questions for the candidates in advance. Those questions will be reduced into four or five major focused questions to be asked of the candidates in rotating order. Candidates will be encouraged to remain after the structured question/answer session to mingle with attendees and answer individual questions.

PLEASE WRITE UP your questions, stipulating whether the question should be put to the County Commissioner candidates, the State House of Representatives position 1 candidates or the State House of Representatives position 2 candidates, and submit them to either Jerry Jennings email: or George Wilson email: by July 14th. Thank you and please plan on being part of this event.

Jerry Jennings
George Wilson
Jim Passage