Swauk fires

The Firewise education meeting on Saturday morning at Mountain Springs was very well attended with over 100 participants. A lot of information was presented. Here are the key points

1: Fire is a natural part of the Lake Wenatchee area, See the graph for fire frequency over the last 400 years. Note the lack of fires since 1900, coincides with advent of ‘modern’ strategy of putting out every fire as fast as possible, resulting in an unnatural build up of fuel in the forest, see photo.

2: Community involvement in reducing the fuel load in and around our communities is key.   There are a lot of resources available FOR FREE that can be paid for with community credits.   All volunteer hours earn credits for the community to pay for chipping etc.   If you and your neighbors can volunteer some time firewising your property, your neighbors property or community property, all your hours will count for community credits. Chipping crews will be out this spring, contact one the local community coordinators below.

 

 

billboard
3: SIGN UP. There are volunteer coordinators for each sub-community area. Reach out and sign up with them. They will be coordinating efforts in each of the communities.  LakeWenatcheeInfo is working with the Fire District to provide a mechanism you can use to report volunteer hours, stay tuned.

Graph and Photo credit: Richard Schellhaas
Discussion and Comments Welcome.

Here are the community coordinators:

2016 Firewise Leadership
Area    Name Email
Nason Creek    Broughton.       Dennis dennismbroughton@gmail.com
Coles Corner    Scott,     Marci scott.marci21@gmail.com
Kahler Glen    Miller,     Bill billmiller@genext.net
Kahler Glen    Forbes, Long      Dan, Mary forbeslong@gmail.com
Stellerwood    Prestbo,     Eric prestbo@gmail.com
North and South Shore    Bottoms,     Don donb@plainhookey.com
North Shore    Strauss,      Windy wstrauss@houseloan.com
White River    Saugen,     Dave dave@talltimber.org
White River    Bartholomew,     Dave DNBart@gmail.com
Whispering Pines    Shilling,     Dede dedeshilling@hotmail.com
South Shore    Wilson,      George gwwilson@nwi.net
South Shore    Wilson,      Jimi jbwilson@nwi.net
South Shore    Wood     Linda woodleuck@nwi.net
Fish Lake    Mueller,     Ann & Pete muellers5@msn.com
Idlewild    Crater,     Wendy wendycrater@gmail.com
Chiwawa River Pines    Stanford,     Mike emtstanford@gmail.com
Shugart Flats    Payne,     Mike bmpayne@nwi.net
Chiwawa Loop / Plain    Newell,     Deb debbie@mtsprings.com
Hazel Road    Egbert,     Paula scotte@mwi.net
Ponderosa    Pendleton,     Doug dougpen@nwi.net
River Road    Jennings,     Bob & Jerry rjjennings@nwi.net
River Road    Kay,     Lyn Groganprsh@nwi.net
Bretz Road    Newell,   Deb debbie@mtsprings.com
Bretz Road    Tobey,     Ed entobey@nwi.net
Forest Glen    Adamson,   Bob boblteach2@aol.com